Most reviewed foundations 2012

Tuesday, 4 December 2012

Most reviewed foundations 2012If you’ve been following our tips on how to get that flawless complexion, then you’ll know exactly how important our top 5 most reviewed foundations are.

5. Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Ultra Lift and Firm Make-up

This extra-creamy foundation lifts, plumps and diffuses light while blurring those fine lines and locking in moisture.
What you say:

‘Best foundation I have ever used, velvet soft on your skin.’

Read all reviews

4. Clarins Everlasting Foundation SPF 15

Smooth, non-oily and non-transferrable cover, this baby evens skin tone while enhancing your complexion.
What you say:

‘This foundation offers 15 hours of impeccable coverage and total comfort.’

Read all reviews

3. Essence Make-up to Match

It isn’t called Make-up to Match for nothing. This foundation matches all skin tones thanks to its micro-encapsulated pigments, and creates a smooth finish.
What you say:

‘Essence is really taking the market by storm, I originally thought it was mainly targeted at teens but I have come to love the range and find them very reasonable and good quality.’

Read all reviews

2. Revlon ColorStay Aqua Mineral Make-Up

It’s all in the name of this mineral, water-based foundation. Made with coconut water, Revlon’s powder offers a shine-free finish.
What you say:

‘This mineral make-up by Revlon is simply great, very light on the skin.’

Read all reviews

1. Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam

A weightless foam that offers buildable coverage with its ultra-fine pigments.
What you say:

‘I love the way this mousse is so light and airy! It goes on for even coverage and doesn’t feel oily or heavy. You barely notice it’s there.’

Read all reviews

Other articles you may be interested in:
Foundation types explained: Powder
Foundation types explained: Liquid
Foundation types explained: Cream
Beauty Balms on show
Introducing the new Pond’s BB Cream
The battle of the BB creams
Foundation formulas

Written by

Megan Kakora has helped launch the websites of, and been the online editor for, some of South Africa’s biggest glossy magazines. She believes in less-is-more, except when it comes to her collection of nail polish colours.
Megan on Google+

Want to write a comment? Sign in here sign up now
Tell your friends
  1. Sue1N

    OOh going to give Maybelline’s Dream Nude Airfoam a try. Love bottle and name. Revlon also always deliver on their foundations.

    4 years ago •

  1. Heidi G

    Revlon foundations suit me well and are friendly on the budget too!

    4 years ago •

  1. Sager

    I love my Clarins everlasting foundation!

    4 years ago •

  1. Carlene

    Can’t live without my Mabelline foundation!

    4 years ago •

  1. BeautySouthAfrica

    Hi Kunene
    Yes, unfortunately that range was discontinued in December 2012. However, revlon has some beautiful foundations available such as the ColorStay Crème Mousse Makeup, which we are sure you will find equally appealing :)

    4 years ago •

  1. kunene

    They told me the color stay aqua was discountinued by revlon, please confirm beauty SA. I was very disappointed…

    4 years ago •

  1. Anne

    I have essence eyeshadows, will be trying their foundation next as the products are really cheap!

    5 years ago •

  1. Hess

    Essence and Maybelline stand out for me.

    5 years ago •

  1. Pannack

    I would love to try the Revlon Mineral base looks amazing!

    5 years ago •

  1. Anni*

    I also thought Essence was a make up range for teens, but found it so reasonably priced that I bought some of the products and loved them. While I have my favourites from names like Revlon, Maybelline, Clarins etc. Essence is now my “fall back” cosmetic line. They are innovative in creating new products. You can find a match for every product out therre in the Essence range. Bringing out the “beauty blender”‘s little sis that they like to call the “Make up Sponge”. Simple as that! I’m sure it won’t be a tenth of the price of the original and still work just as well! Love Essence!!!

    5 years ago •

  1. Gleeson

    Dying to try the Revlon ColorStay Aqua Mineral Make-Up! But very expensive!

    5 years ago •

  1. Glamorous Glitter

    I love essence foundation! I started using the Maybelline FIT me foundation recently, and I have to admit, I still prefer my essence foundation.

    5 years ago •

  1. ricebunny

    I’ve only tried the essence one

    5 years ago •

  1. Bronwyn

    Haven’t tried Essence foundation but I use a lot of their other makeup because they are incredibly cheap. I want to try the illuminating makeup base which is like a primer which gives you a glow

    5 years ago •

  1. middlewick

    I have been looking for a good foundation, thanks for the reviews, will definitely try one of them

    5 years ago •

  1. Lorraine

    All very good foundations.I like them all. Thanks for the great reviews.

    5 years ago •

  1. Tasha

    I think a next item on the list is airfoam – sounds great…

    5 years ago •

  1. Azraa

    Love the revlon mineral make up! It has a cold feeling when you put it own, and it doesnt make the skin look dry!

    Essence is great too, havent tried this product tho.

    5 years ago •

  1. Blackcherry

    greats reviews. i love elizabeth arden

    5 years ago •

  1. JamieBaby

    Need to get my hands on the dream nude airfoam!

    5 years ago •

  1. Cat

    Elizabeth Arden is for sure worth it…love this foundation

    5 years ago •

  1. Humphreys

    Maybelline Dream Nude Airfoam is so nice!!! It leaves an absolute beautifull complexion!!

    5 years ago •

BeautySouthAfrica - your pre-shop stop for all things beauty

Beautysouthafrica.com is South Africa’s most comprehensive online beauty magazine and your pre-shop stop for product information and reviews. From the latest international make-up trends to the hottest new products on the market, we offer insights into the glamorous world of beauty. Join like-minded beauty fanatics in our loyalty program and earn points, trial beauty products and share your experiences.

Become a beauty addict!

Get great deals and climb the ladder to a Gold Star!

×

Sign In

×