Most reviewed mascaras 2012

Wednesday, 5 December 2012

Most reviewed mascaras of 2012It seems you enjoyed fluttering your lashes throughout 2012 judging by your reviews of the mascaras we’ve listed. Here are the top five most reviewed mascaras for this year…

5. Revlon Grow Luscious Plumping Mascara

With up to 200% plumping ability, this mascara could be your newest secret weapon to fighting limp lashes.
What you say:

‘After wearing eyelash extensions continuously, I was left with none. Then an assistant suggest I try it, a week later after everyday use I saw a difference. Now it’s my favourite.’

Read all reviews

4. Yardley Curvilicious Mascara

This all-in-one mascara creates length and lift while giving you shiny and thick eyelashes. Perfect for that wide-eyed look.
What you say:

‘Does create quite a dynamic effect! The curved brush works with the contours of your lashes to allow adequate application.’

Read all reviews

3. Lancôme Hypnôse Star

Deep, intense and mysterious eyes, femininity that cannot go unnoticed and which quite simply demands the utmost attention with this mascara.
What you say:

‘Lancôme is a classic brand; I love the effect it has on the eyes.’

Read all reviews

2. Rimmel Scandal Eyes

Enhanced with a triple collagen and keratin formula, cause a scandal with this mascara and outrageously plump lashes.
What you say:

‘At first I did not like this mascara at all! The brush was way too big and my lashes clumped… but then I realised I was applying it all wrong.’

Read all reviews

1. Bourjois Volume Fast and Perfect Mascara

You may need to get the hang of this mascara first, but it’s auto rotating brush wraps around each lash, creating a false-lash effect.
What you say:

‘I have tried so many mascaras prior to this one, even high end branded ones, but I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this one has no competition.’

Read all reviews

Other articles you may be interested in:

Choose the perfect mascara
Your complete mascara guide

Written by

Megan Kakora has helped launch the websites of, and been the online editor for, some of South Africa’s biggest glossy magazines. She believes in less-is-more, except when it comes to her collection of nail polish colours.
Megan on Google+

Want to write a comment? Sign in here sign up now
Tell your friends
  1. AndreaM

    The Rimmel looks like a must try.

    4 years ago •

  1. Carlene

    When it comes to mascara I’m a Rimmel girl…

    4 years ago •

  1. kunene

    Bourjois Volume Fast and Perfect Mascara is the best, my friend who was doing a review on it let me try it for a week….absolute awesomeness…..

    4 years ago •

  1. van Eck

    I was hoping to see that Inglot’s False Lash Effect mascara would make the list… :(

    4 years ago •

  1. Anne

    I use the Revlon grow luscious for special occasions and the hardly curvilicious for normal everyday looks

    5 years ago •

  1. Anni*

    I bought the Revlon Grow Luscious Plumping Mascara, but it seems a bit clumpy to me, I like my eyelashes defined and not looking like “one piece”. It’s great for plumping, but has to be used carefully as to not have too much mascara on your lashes. My personal favourite is the Maybelline range (Falsies etc.). It’s brush really defines all lashes and the textures seems to hold very well but isnt clumpy at all.

    5 years ago •

  1. Gee Whiskers

    I was very impressed with the Rimmel Scandal eyes mascara, especially with the price tag.

    5 years ago •

  1. ricebunny

    The bourjois and lancome are my fav

    5 years ago •

  1. Lorraine

    Agree that this is the top 5 mascaras. I have used most of them and got good results. Thanks for the reviews.

    5 years ago •

  1. Nuuh

    Lancome Hypnose star is the best I am currently using it and I am very happy with it

    5 years ago •

  1. Tanya

    Yay for Yardley Curvilicious Mascara

    5 years ago •

  1. middlewick

    Out of all these mascaras i would like to try Rimmel, im quite a fine of theirs

    5 years ago •

  1. Tasha

    I have scandal eyes and it is pretty cool. Would really like to try Bourjois mascaras – don’t have much of the experience with that brand.

    5 years ago •

  1. Lady-T

    Scandaling my eyelashes is what I need-Rimmel Scandal Eyes

    5 years ago •

  1. Angelisha

    I like the Yardley but would love to try the others!

    5 years ago •

  1. Blackcherry

    i agree with maddy. Lancome hynose!!!!!

    5 years ago •

  1. Mpoyif

    Revlon Grow Luscious Plumping Mascara sounds like a good buy.

    5 years ago •

  1. CindyR

    The Rimmel and Lancome Mascar is really great

    5 years ago •

  1. JamieBaby

    Bourjois Volume Fast and Perfect Mascara – I need to try this!!! Sounds like it works absolutely wonderful!

    5 years ago •

  1. Humphreys

    The Revlon Grow is honestly a great buy! I have long lashes so im continiously looking for volume. This product did the trick!

    5 years ago •

  1. Riekie

    Need to try the Revlon Grow Luscious Plumping Mascara

    5 years ago •

  1. Maddy

    Hands uppp for Lancome Hypnose star.

    5 years ago •

BeautySouthAfrica - your pre-shop stop for all things beauty

Beautysouthafrica.com is South Africa’s most comprehensive online beauty magazine and your pre-shop stop for product information and reviews. From the latest international make-up trends to the hottest new products on the market, we offer insights into the glamorous world of beauty. Join like-minded beauty fanatics in our loyalty program and earn points, trial beauty products and share your experiences.

Become a beauty addict!

Get great deals and climb the ladder to a Gold Star!

×

Sign In

×