SOiL’s Balancing Baobab – review

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

SOIL Baobab Body Wash and Body LotionWhat they say:
SOiL‘s range of Baobab products contain oil from the ageless giants of Limpopo, with essential oils of rose geranium and sandalwood to balance and restore. Sourced from a local African community initiative in Limpopo, SOiL works with local farmers to create a valuable and sustainable resource, providing upliftment to the local community. Baobab oil contains vitamins that actively rejuvenate and renew, while essential fatty acids nourish and maintain supple and healthy skin.

What we say:

Balancing Baobab Body Wash

‘I’ve recently returned from spending 10 months in the sun in the hottest place on earth – Thailand. And as a result, my skin has become extremely dry. After a few days, SOiL’s Balancing Baobab Body Wash not only restored the pH balance to my skin, it also wasn’t as dry – I found I only needed to apply a minimul amount of moisturiser instead of the usual handfuls of lotion. These days my skin feels silky after each wash and I no longer believe that for my skin to be clean it needs to feel tight. The relaxing spa-like scent of rose geranium and sandalwood doesn’t hurt either.’
– Megan

Balancing Baobab Body Lotion

‘The cream is easy to apply, is absorbed easily into my skin, and doesn’t leave a greasy film. It feels rich and nourishing and kept my skin smooth and hydrated for hours.The fragrance is fresh and earthy and reminds me of the smells in a spa, which triggers instant relaxation and that winding down feeling.’
– Claire

Other articles you may be interested in:

Uplifting Coconut Bath Oil
Bargain beauty buys for women
Recreate a hydrotherapy spa bath
Organic and natural buys under R180
Uplifting Soy Wax Candle

Written by

Megan Kakora has helped launch the websites of, and been the online editor for, some of South Africa’s biggest glossy magazines. She believes in less-is-more, except when it comes to her collection of nail polish colours.
Megan on Google+

Want to write a comment? Sign in here sign up now
Tell your friends
  1. me

    “local farmers” “valuable and sustainable” “upliftment to the local community.” All those word together, definitely makes this a product to try.!

    5 years ago •

  1. McPherson

    Love the fact that it is proudly South African

    5 years ago •

  1. BeautySouthAfrica

    Hi TJK, we assume it’s with great machinery and a skilled team of workers :)

    5 years ago •

  1. TJK

    Thanks for the review – I wonder how they get the oil?

    5 years ago •

  1. Larissa B

    soil is a proudly south african range of aromatherapy products that help nourish the skin while keeping it moisturised. excellent products

    5 years ago •

  1. SpiceY

    I have tried the oil , definitely trying these next…the oil hydrates your skin beautifully

    5 years ago •

  1. Henke

    Interesting… always keen to try anything with essential oils and natural products

    5 years ago •

  1. Nuuh

    Great review I would like to try the body lotion. I love body lotion that absorbs quickly on your skin and does not make you feel grease

    5 years ago •

  1. Cass1231

    Almost like I can smell the cream already! Sounds great

    6 years ago •

  1. Rochelle Stewart

    I have heard only good things about Boabab

    6 years ago •

  1. Tammy Dollie

    awesome, this is one to try for sure

    6 years ago •

  1. Maddy

    love the look of the products but have never tried anyhting with Baobob..

    6 years ago •

  1. Maria Meyer

    Very nice review – interesting packaging

    6 years ago •

  1. kunene

    body wash rather bath salts or bubble bath is for me will try it sure thing

    6 years ago •

  1. Clarad

    I tried both products and the smell reminds me of rain-drenched grass. The body wash is quite soothing.

    6 years ago •

  1. Affat

    never heard of this product – thanks for introducing!

    6 years ago •

  1. BeautySouthAfrica

    Hi Debbie you can buy Soil products online at soil.co.za and you can find a list of stores on the site which stock them too in your area.

    6 years ago •

  1. Zu

    Being an asian in the african continent, i am always tempted to buy anything that has BAOBAB or ROOIBOS especially if its something for beauty qnd welness. Please tell me where can i avail this product? Im curious with the scent also…

    6 years ago •

  1. Botes

    Sounds yummy id love to try this product, I love trying local products!!!!!

    6 years ago •

  1. Mpbutterfly

    Just love the packaging. Its eye catching and looks quite organic in design. Would have to try it out seeing as its local.

    6 years ago •

BeautySouthAfrica - your pre-shop stop for all things beauty

Beautysouthafrica.com is South Africa’s most comprehensive online beauty magazine and your pre-shop stop for product information and reviews. From the latest international make-up trends to the hottest new products on the market, we offer insights into the glamorous world of beauty. Join like-minded beauty fanatics in our loyalty program and earn points, trial beauty products and share your experiences.

Become a beauty addict!

Get great deals and climb the ladder to a Gold Star!

×

Sign In

×