Tree Hut body wash and butter – review

Tuesday, 29 May 2012

Tree Hut Body wash and butterWhat they say:
Tree Hut, an organic skincare range from America, is one of the latest additions to e-tailer TAKEALOT.com’s already extensive beauty range that includes fragrances, hair grooming, make-up, men’s grooming and skin and body care. The Tree Hut skincare range is renowned for having certified organic Shea butter across the entire product range. Made with only natural ingredients, no parabens or DM, Tree Hut is great for both your skin and the environment. The range features an exciting array of body scrubs, lotions and body butters.

What we say:

Tree Hut Body Wash Almond Honey, 473ml, R69

The first thing that struck me about the Tree Hut almond honey body wash before I had even used it, was the smell. After cracking the bottle open when it arrived in the office, the divine honey and almond scent immediately won me over. When I eventually got the jumbo 473ml bottle into the shower, I was sold. The rich, foamy lather felt uh-mazing against my skin, but even better, it smelt as if I was soaping liquid sherbet onto my body. YUM! These days I look forward to my evening shower at the end of the day. It’s my little treat after a rough day at the office, and is fast replacing that dark chocolate and bottle of red wine…

Tree Hut Body Butter in Lavender & Chamomile, 200ml, R79

If you prefer creams to lotions then this is for you. There isn’t much of a scent, but Tree Hut’s body butter spreads like a waxy butter coating your body. Now that might sound like it’s oily or sticky, but it’s neither. The product is pretty thick, but it rubs on smoothly and absorbs into your skin immediately. The body butter is very effective in that I only need to use it once a day where before I’ve had to apply moisturiser twice daily, especially during winter.

Written by

Megan Kakora has helped launch the websites of, and been the online editor for, some of South Africa’s biggest glossy magazines. She believes in less-is-more, except when it comes to her collection of nail polish colours.
Megan on Google+

Want to write a comment? Sign in here sign up now
Tell your friends
  1. me

    Going right over to go see how to buy this.

    5 years ago •

  1. margsc

    maybe I’m just really fussy but I really want not impressed with the Tree Hut products I bought. I got the shower wash and the scrub. The wash wasn’t bad, but I’ve used better products for less. The scrub I actually dislike. It’s not “scrubby” enough and is a funny texture. I was very disappointed and won’t be buying any more of their products.

    5 years ago •

  1. McPherson

    It sounds gorgeous. And the pricing is not too bad

    5 years ago •

  1. RoseAngel

    These are going onto my birthday wish list

    5 years ago •

  1. Stolić

    I am currently using the Vanilla spice one by Tree Hut and it smells amazing!! Beyond amazing! Definitely worth buying!

    5 years ago •

  1. Slamet

    I love the fact that it is natural and organic product over the harsh chemicals. :)

    5 years ago •

  1. Nwamba

    Shea Butter is so moisturizing, seeing that I have dry skin I would love to get my hands on this.

    5 years ago •

  1. Ayesh

    This sound amazing. I would love to buy some from Takealot!

    6 years ago •

  1. Fatima

    Sounds good and priced well. The body wash sounds amazing.

    6 years ago •

  1. Riekie

    Good price range, will definitely try this

    6 years ago •

  1. Debbie

    I love lavender and a good body butter does wonders for the skin

    6 years ago •

  1. Maddy

    I love organic products especially washes and lotions and Tree Hut range is divine.

    6 years ago •

  1. G

    I would love to try these after reading the review. Anything with Shea Butter is a winner!

    6 years ago •

  1. Cass1231

    This looks great sure it must smell devine

    6 years ago •

  1. G

    I’ve been looking for a good body butter with shea butter. Will give this a try.

    6 years ago •

  1. Hima

    Looks like a great product,..and that too organic!!!

    6 years ago •

  1. CarolynMcM

    I saw these on takealot.com. Seems like nice products.

    6 years ago •

  1. Maria Meyer

    Sounds like we need to give these products a try!

    6 years ago •

  1. Mohamed

    Love shea butter boody butter! Thanks for this!

    6 years ago •

  1. kunene

    it sounds good, but it reminds me of when i was a teenager in high school, if i did not smell of cocoa butter, it was shea butter, so sure smells nice but it is too high schooly for me.

    6 years ago •

  1. BeautySouthAfrica

    Hi Diva these are ONLY available from takealot unfortunately.

    6 years ago •

  1. DIVA

    where can you get these besides TAKEALOT? would like to try them

    6 years ago •

  1. BeautySouthAfrica

    Hi Debbie yes it is only available at takealot.com.

    6 years ago •

  1. Debsie

    Is this product only available online from TAKEALOT.com?

    6 years ago •

  1. Cat

    I love a good body butter, sounds amazing

    6 years ago •

  1. Botes

    Love, Love Love Tree Hut, I use the lime and coconut variant but all their products they make ur skin silky soft and smooth!!!!!

    6 years ago •

BeautySouthAfrica - your pre-shop stop for all things beauty

Beautysouthafrica.com is South Africa’s most comprehensive online beauty magazine and your pre-shop stop for product information and reviews. From the latest international make-up trends to the hottest new products on the market, we offer insights into the glamorous world of beauty. Join like-minded beauty fanatics in our loyalty program and earn points, trial beauty products and share your experiences.

Become a beauty addict!

Get great deals and climb the ladder to a Gold Star!

×

Sign In

×